Fat Butcher's Photosonica
North London V-tard splicing beauty to the beats

Where Do We Come From? What Are We? Where Are We Going?

One of the questions MoS-TV asked me was the inevitable ‘where do you think VJing is headed?’ bombshell. I think I said something vague about technologies converging – music software and image software becoming interchangeable applications, was my ill-conveyed vision. Now you can edit Quicktimes in Photoshop and turn pictures into sound, use 2D in a 3D environment – the boundaries between applications are not just becoming blurred, but apparently arbitrary and passé.

As for live performance, things are changing rapidly too in the way imagery can be delivered. Ideally I think all VJs would like to, in Bacon’s words, ‘unlock the valves of feeling and therefore return the onlooker to life more violently’ – to connect yourself and the audience together in a spontaneous mesh of sensations. To transport and to elevate, to stimulate and provoke. The actual substance of your video content is responsible for much of this, but the medium itself can be messin’ with your noodle too.

One thing that I am excited about at the moment is wearable screen technology.

Performing live can feel restrictive when you’re tied down to a rectangle. What I do is ambient and immersive – I want it to be present and inescapable and nobody’s expected to turn and stare at the screen. Ideally visuals permeate the atmosphere and become an element of it, rather than a fixture to be focussed on or studied. Wearable screen technology is a way of wrapping my light and vision around the audience and weaving it into the fabric of the experience and I want I want I want it NOW.

One Response to “Where Do We Come From? What Are We? Where Are We Going?”

  1. You’re so right – VJing should be a global experience that should add an extra layer of participation – thats why these new ideas are so great – I don’t understand why companies developing new technology are not using experienced and innovative VJs to promote these products, after all their captive market is right there- its a win win situation.


Leave a Reply

