Fat Butcher's Photosonica
North London V-tard splicing beauty to the beats

ENCORE!

Behold! My first film titles commission. This was created in a few days during late summer 2007 for talented editor Yaire Halawani, who I work with on Quickflick London. He mentioned he was making a film and I said what I always say: ‘Got a title sequence sorted out?’

I’ve always enjoyed good animated credits sequences, from Saul Bass’ work with Hitchcock (and Bass’ many, many imitators) to those for Lemony Snicket’s A Series Of Unfortunate Events, which was so good that in the cinema they relocated the opening credit sequence to the END of the film so that the visually witty 2D escapade wouldn’t steal the limelight from a film that is rather static and longwinded by comparison. Yaya’s short film is largely set on a bus, which may or may not be ferrying a young man to the afterlife. I came up with the concept of the destination reels on the front of London buses, and the Charon Cross joke was my addition after Yaya asked for the River Styx to be one of the stops displayed.

The whole thing was created in Photoshop and After Effects. I filmed the car lights on the motorway while I was on tour with I Dream, a play by Patrick Neate and The Shrine, early in 2007.

I Dream poster, designed in Photoshop. Copyright Fat Butcher 2007!

No Responses to “ENCORE!”

Leave a Reply

